Soulful Saturday : Fear

  The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

Psalms 118 : 6

Such an incredibly bold statement. 
I am convinced many have no idea what they are saying when they quote it.

Another perfect example would be the famous “God is my judge” line. Do you know what you are confessing when you say things like that?

Well, I have given it some thought.
If I were to confess this with my mouth and, at the same time, believe it in my heart it would mean the following:

My life would change drastically. Can anyone say “radical”?
I wonder what would happen should we decide to be radical about living for God alone….. what changes would take place? In my career choices… with my family… who would you be today? Would people be shocked?

It always strikes me how much value we place on the opinion of others.  It threatens to become the very things that define us.
The way we eat or dress or speak and even what we do in out spare time.

But what if I applied this verse? What CAN man do unto me?
The answer is nothing worth anything. When you live for God nothing any man or woman does, no matter who they are, has any value.
The best thing about that is that in serving God only, my service to others will have to become exceptional.

As for God being my judge…what a scary thought! That alone should be enough to keep you in line.

Sadly, it doesn’t.  Its more of a license to do your own nonsense than a reminder that you will answer for everything you do.

What kind of holy fear would it take for you to change how you do things now?

Don’t waste time worrying or fearing what people can do or say. Their opinion counts for nought.

Take time to reflect on what you find is more important to you.
If its lacking, be bold, make the change, stand strong.

Should you wish to read more Soulful posts click here

3 thoughts on “Soulful Saturday : Fear

Leave a Reply

