Showing My Tresses Some Love

If you have kinky curly coily hair you are most likely to be a moisture seeker like me.

About two months ago I started treating my tresses on a weekly basis with either a moisturizing or protein feeding treatment.

I find that when I go to look for treatments at the stores they are either pricey or have a list of ingredients I am not familiar with at all. Its hard to find products for natural hair where I live. So I look for do-it-yourself (DIY) recipes that I can make at home.

This mix did something wonderful to my hair in the way of shine and moisture.

First I blended a small banana until it was extra smooth. If you don’t do this you may end up with bits of banana in your hair. Not a good thing.
I added 1 teaspoon of honey, 1 teaspoon glycerin, 1 tablespoon amla oil, 1 egg yolk, 1 tablespoon of castor oil and enough Hello Hydration Conditioner to make it the consistency of a conditioner that doesn’t drip all over the place.
Mix all of this really well.

I like to apply to detangled hair before I wash because I like to make sure the banana is washed out. Sometimes I add a little coconut oil to my shampoo. But everyone’s hair is not the same, I suggest you experiment and do what works for you.
I don’t have a hooded dryer or steamer and I believe in deep conditioning with heat so I cover my head with plastic and either a scarf or bonnet. If I’m not going to be too busy I will wrap a towel around my head to trap the heat that inevitably builds. For about 30 min to 2 hours.

This ensures that the conditioner penetrates your hair strands.

I then wash my hair and apply my Tressemme Naturals Conditioner and rinse with really cool water.

Loved my shine after…

More on my natural hair journey

Inspired and Loved

You can also Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

