Free To Be Me

I know who I am.
It took me a while to figure it out. To understand and accept myself as well as who God has called me to be.

It is absolutely amazing to be able to say that. And its made me so passionate about the whole concept and truth surrounding identity. I want everyone to know who they are. To make the same breathtaking discovery that I have.

Yet, I admit, the process of having sought and found who I am has made me grateful for the knowing. I just wish I could help everybody find themselves.

Mainly because I have witnessed so many young people and women lost to themselves and struggling to live a pretend life while trying to convince themselves they are happy.
It breaks my heart.

I find great inspiration in music and lyrics and I would like to share this song with you… it makes my liver sing to know I have the fredom to be all God has intended me to be.

Free To Be Me by Francesca Battistelli
from the album My Paper Heart

At twenty years of age
I’m still looking for a dream
A war is already waged for my destiny
But You’ve already won the battle
And You’ve got great plans for me
Though I can’t always see

I got a couple dents in my fender
Got a couple rips in my jeans
Try to put the pieces together
But perfection is my enemy
And on my own I’m so clumsy
But on Your shoulders I can see
I’m free to be me

When I was just a girl
I thought I had it figured out
See my life will turn out right
And I’ll make it here somehow
But things don’t always come that easy
And sometimes I would doubt, ’cause…
I got a couple dents in my fender
Got a couple rips in my jeans
Try to put the pieces together
But perfection is my enemy
And on my own I’m so clumsy
But on Your shoulders I can see
I’m free to be me

Sometimes I believe
That I can do anything
Yet other times I think
I’ve got nothing good to bring
But You look at my heart and tell me
That I’ve got all You seek
And it’s easy to believe, even though…

I got a couple dents in my fender
Got a couple rips in my jeans
Try to put the pieces together
But perfection is my enemy
And on my own I’m so clumsy
But on Your shoulders I can see
I’m free to be me

Inspired and Loved

Leave a Reply

